PROMOTIOANL EVENT: Silent Night (Night Songs Collection #4) by Kristen Strassel

SN - Promo

Silent Night Digital Cover Large

SYNOPSIS

This Christmas isn’t about celebration for eighteen-year-old Kyndra, it’s about survival. Grieving the loss of her grandmother and struggling with the indifference of her family, Kyndra now splits her time between her dead-end mall job, her junkie ex-boyfriend’s bed, and the streets. Longing to be close to her grandmother one more time, she wanders into Christmas Eve mass and prays she’ll find the place she belongs. Home.

Aidan isn’t ready to let go of the past either, even though he’s had nearly three hundred years to do it. He chronicles the search for the reincarnation of his beloved wife as the vampire romance author Allison Duprois. Aidan knows the wife he mourns is out there, but fears writing their story is as close as he will get to her.

At Christmas Eve mass, he finally finds her. Alone, with no place to go.

Aidan brings Kyndra into his home, and gives her the safety, comfort and love she longs for. Though he gives her second chances she never thought she’d have, Kyndra still can’t get over Aidan’s mysterious past. Not to mention that he claims that he’s a vampire. Life alone on the streets is dangerous enough without handing her trust and love to the wrong person. Can Aidan break through the walls around Kyndra’s hardened heart to convince her that she belongs with him, forever?

94182-goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

SN - Teaser 2

EXCERPT

“Do you want to go out on the deck?” he asked. He hadn’t even broken a sweat dancing. I definitely was glistening.

“It’s almost midnight. Will we miss the countdown?” After such a great night, I didn’t want the New Year to start without us.

“We’ll hear it. Come on.” We had to weave through the crowd, which seemed to have blossomed while we danced. Only a few people were on the deck when we stepped out, the cool night keeping the celebration inside, even though the deck had heat lamps.

“It’s so beautiful out here,” I marveled as I held on to the railing and looked out at the city.

“It is.” Aidan brought his fingers under my chin, and turned my face toward his. He wasn’t looking at the view. He wasn’t looking at anything but me. Even with the cold, I wanted to melt.

“They’re doing the countdown!” someone near the door exclaimed. “Ten…nine…eight.”

“Happy New Year, Kyndra.” Aidan caressed my jawline. “Here’s to new beginnings.”

“To new beginnings,” I forced myself to say, only taking my eyes off of Aidan as the crowd erupted, signaling midnight had arrived. I looked back at him and smiled.

His other hand slipped around my waist, pulling me into his body. He tipped my chin up, and then his hand moved back over my hair. I put my hands around his neck, being so close to him I didn’t have anywhere else to put them, even if I had wanted to do anything else but kiss him. I closed my eyes as he leaned in, his lips landing softly on mine. I parted my own, letting his tongue explore my mouth shyly, and I held on to him for dear life. My whole body relaxed against his. Aidan’s hand rubbed my lower back, and I sighed against his lips.

We stayed out on the deck, kissing for what seemed like hours. Everyone else had disappeared. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw the lights come on in the lounge.

“We should head out,” Aidan said, his voice raspy. He rubbed my arms. “You must be freezing.”

“Not really.”

“You have goosebumps.” Aidan shook his head slightly. “I’m the worst suitor ever.”

Suitor? Part of me wanted to giggle at him using such an old fashioned word, but the rest of me wanted to die a little that Aidan might really consider this a real date. Not just having too much wine and making out with his roommate.

I’d always heard that what you did at midnight on New Year’s Eve set the pace for the rest of the year. If that was true, this year promised to blow the last out of the water.

SN - Teaser 4

GUEST POST

A Soundtrack for Silent Night

I realized as I put this list together that it looks like I wrote the world’s most emo Christmas story.  This book is very close to me, and a lot of this is my story.  It was a book I had to write.  I wrote it at Christmas time, when all the emotions were in my face, no matter how hard I tried to run from them. Silent Night is a book about finding out where you belong.  And it’s not always where you expect.

As heavy as this all sounds, there are a lot of light moments, and a happily forever after.

  1. Hosier—Take Me To Church. This song didn’t exist when I wrote this book. Besides the pretty literal connection with the plot, the lyrics really connect with Kyndra and Aidan’s story as well.
  2. The Rasmus—The Funeral Song (The Resurrection). I love The Rasmus, and I wish more people knew about them. They’re full of gothy goodness. This is a hauntingly beautiful song, and perfect for Silent Night. “I died in my dreams, reaching out for your hand, my fatal desire.”
  3. I’ll Be Home For Christmas. The song that can reduce me to tears at just the thought of it.
  4. O, Holy Night. The most beautiful Christmas song, ever. Not up for discussion.
  5. The Rasmus—Immortal. Because we should all be listing to more of The Rasmus.
  6. The Rasmus—Keep Your Heart Broken. See #5.
  7. Bon Jovi—It’s Hard Letting You Go. If you’re familiar with me, you know that none of my soundtracks can be considered complete without some Jovi goodness.
  8. Garbage–#1 Crush. Aidan’s been looking for the reincarnation of his wife, and believes in Kyndra, he’s found her. However, he’s not as creepy as this song.
  9. Marilyn Manson—Tainted Love. It just fits.
  10. Bon Jovi—Silent Night. Oh yeah, I did it. I like to name my books after song titles, hence The Night Songs Collection. But it’s absolutely, positively perfect. Someone left a review on another one of my books that started out with “What if what you always wanted is nothing like you imagined?” I think that sums up this song and this book perfectly.  Plus, if you can get past the 1985-ness of this video, my God, were Jon and Richie beautiful.

PURCHASE LINKS

d5665-amazon2

AUTHOR

KristenKristen shares a birthday with Steven Tyler and Diana Ross. She spends each day striving to be half as fabulous as they are. She’s worn many hats, none as flattering as her cowboy hat: banker, retail manager, fledgling web designer, world’s worst cocktail waitress, panty slinger, now makeup artist and author. She loves sunshine, live music, the middle of nowhere, and finding new things to put in her house.

26dbe-bloodwhitebutton-websitesmall1c692-facebookbutton5b47a-twitterbutton795ae-waxcreative-goodreads

WS logo-name

Leave a Reply

