Ralou’s Review: Josh and Gemma Make A Baby by Sarah Ready

 

2022 has definitely started with a bang and an amazing head start on the reading experience. I couldn’t have asked for a better book to inaugurate my new reading journey. Thank you so much Sarah Ready for this!

As I’m writing this review, all those beautiful and special moments that this book gifted me with are running through my mind, intertwined as in a movie; a movie that celebrates Josh & Gemma’s special journey to true love.

getting to know the characters:

Gemma is a social-media manager of a famous self-guru guy and a junkie of said-guy’s life-quotes – ha, what a joke that is -, and Josh is a famous web-comic creator and designer.

Gemma & Josh are two people who have grown up together and share a long past, but they never fell under the category of “friends”. They were always around each other, but never too close for their paths to cross and change the status of their relationship into something more. Until Gemma decides that it’s time to go after what she always wanted most; a family of her own, a baby to hold and love with all her being… but without the inconvenience of having to find a man and get married first.

She’s there in my heart, she’s been there so long, like a song that I started singing but was never allowed to finish

And that’s where Josh comes into play. Gemma asks him to become, under very surreal circumstances, her baby’s donor daddy. And….. he accepts, for his own amazing reasons.

the book & me: 

I read the book twice before I got to start finding the words for this review. And I must say, it was a completely different experience, shone light upon things that I didn’t notice before, and forced me to reevaluate my first impression and perspective.

When I finished my first read of it, even though the HEA in the end had my heart super happy and teary-eyed, it felt like something had gone a bit wrong. Some behaviors, situations, and decisions that were made throughout the book had left me a bit displeased, a bit angry, and a bit… judgy. So, I started it all over again, holding on to the knowledge of how it ended, but going in with a different pair of eyes and a clean slate on my perspective. And it was definitely one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. It paid off more than I could have ever hoped for and made me cherish the story even more.

Certainly, one of the things that bummed me out while I was reading and made Josh & Gemma Make a Baby feel incomplete in my heart was the lack of Josh’s perspective. I totally understand why Sarah chose to dedicate the book’s POV to Gemma since it’s mainly HER STORY, but the romantic and greedy bookworm in me felt the absence of Josh’s thoughts, especially during the second time, knowing his reason for it all.

[divider]

Do you want to read a Sneak Peek? You can treat yourself here.


Leave a comment